Burnaway > About

Burnaway is an Atlanta-based digital magazine of contemporary art and criticism from the American South.

Since 2008, the magazine has brought vital critical dialogue to one of the most politically polarized, historically fraught, ecologically threatened, and economically disadvantaged parts of the United States. The issues facing Southern artists, institutions, curators, and writers often represent the country’s most dire social and cultural challenges. Despite this, contemporary art in and from the region receives little national coverage or inclusion in major survey exhibitions, and even less internationally.

Through essays, interviews, exhibition reviews, and artist projects, Burnaway both documents and participates in the vibrant cultural landscape of the South today—from Appalachia to Miami, Nashville to New Orleans. A decade into its existence, Burnaway continues to give voice to a burgeoning but dispersed art world. Instead of relying on easy conventions or common wisdom, Burnaway continues to ask and wonder, What is the South?

In addition to its publishing activities, Burnaway annually hosts the Art Writing Incubator, a five-week intensive for emerging art writers and critics, and other public programs. 

Burnaway is a 501(c)(3) organization and has been certified by W.A.G.E.

 W.A.G.E Certified


Office Address:
928 Ponce de Leon Ave NE
Suite 300
Atlanta, GA 30306

(404) 602-9513

General Inquiries
info@burnaway.org

Event Submissions
events@burnaway.org

Advertising Inquiries
ads@burnaway.org

Erin Jane Nelson
Executive Director 
erin@burnaway.org

Logan Lockner
Editor-in-Chief
logan@burnaway.org

Jasmine Amussen
Editor
jasmine@burnaway.org

Ade J. Omotosho
Editor-at-Large, Miami
miami@burnaway.org

Kristina Kay Robinson
Editor-at-Large, New Orleans
nola@burnaway.org

Emily Llamazales
Programs Assistant
emily@burnaway.org


Print Friendly, PDF & Email