June 16, 2021

By June 16, 2021
Gregory Harris. Photograph by Kristen Brown

Gregory Harris appointed as Donald and Marilyn Keough Family Curator of Photography at the High Museum of Art

Kirsten Stolle's Only You Can Prevent A Forest on view at Halsey Institute through Dec 10, 2022

ATLANTA—The High Museum of Art announced the appointment of Gregory Harris as its Donald and Marilyn Keough Family curator of photography. Harris joined the High in 2016 as assistant curator of photography and was promoted to associate curator in 2018. In his five years with the Museum, he has helped build the photography collection through key acquisitions of work by Dawoud Bey, Evelyn Hofer and Mickalene Thomas, among other notable artists, and commission projects by Alex Harris and Mark Steinmetz; curated more than a dozen exhibitions, such as “William Christenberry: Time & Texture” (2018) and “Amy Elkins: Black is the Day, Black is the Night” (2017); and led the department during the major 2018 collection reinstallation. He will assume his new role on August 2, 2021. 

Raphaela Platow to take over as director of the Speed Art Museum

LOUISVILLE—The Speed Art Museum announced that Raphaela Platow will be taking over as its new director. Platow has been the director and chief curator at the Contemporary Arts Center in Cincinnati, Ohio, since 2007, and takes up her new role at the Speed Art Museum later this summer, replacing outgoing director Stephen Reily.

South Arts announces Marielle Plaisir as the 2021 Southern Prize Winner

Rafael Soldi: A body in transit is now on view at the Frost Museum, Miami through December 4

ATLANTA—South Arts has named Marielle Plaisir as the recipient of the 2021 Southern Prize award, receiving an additional $25,000 cash grant. Fletcher Williams III was named the Southern Prize Finalist receiving an additional $10,000. Both Southern Prize recipients will also receive a two-week residency at the Hambidge Center for the Creative Arts and Sciences

Dr. Sarah Kennel named VMFA’s Aaron Siskind Curator of Photography and Director of the Raysor Center

RICHMOND—The Virginia Museum of Fine Arts (VMFA) announces the appointment of Dr. Sarah Kennel to the position of Aaron Siskind Curator of Photography and Director of the Raysor Center at VMFA. Kennel comes to VMFA from the High Museum of Art in Atlanta, Georgia, where she has served as the Donald and Marilyn Keough Family Curator of Photography and most recently organized the exhibition Underexposed: Women Photographers from the Collection.

Karen Comer Lowe named new Executive Director at Hammonds House Museum

ATLANTA—Karen Comer Lowe has been named the new Executive Director and Chief Curator of Hammonds House Museum. Located in Atlanta’s historic West End neighborhood, the museum is well-known for its thought-provoking exhibitions, culturally rich programming, and impressive permanent art collection. Comer Lowe will be
the fourth executive director and first chief curator in Hammonds House Museum’s illustrious 33-year history.

David Manuel named as the Fulton County Director of Arts & Culture

ATLANTA—Fulton County Manager Dick Anderson names David Manuel as the Fulton County Director of Arts & Culture. Manuel joins Fulton County from neighboring DeKalb County where he served as Arts & Culture Manager.

Manuel previously spent more than 20 years with the Woodruff Arts Center. At Fulton County, he will be responsible for leading operation of arts centers, oversight of the annual Contracts for Services program with arts nonprofits, and the Public Art Program.

Robert Rivers receives the monetary award of The Florida Prize in Contemporary Art

ORLANDO—The Florida Prize in Contemporary Art, organized by the Orlando Museum of Art (OMA) announces University of Central Florida professor Robert Rivers as the artists awarded with $20,000. The artist was selected by jurors Aaron Levi Garvey, a curator and lecturer, and Aldeide Delgado, a Miami-based curator and art researcher. 

MINT 2021 Leap Year Residency Artists Announced

ATLANTA—MINT presents the 2021 Leap Year Artists: Demetri Burke, Kate Burke, Adrianna “Kaya” Clark, Ato Ribeiro, and Tim Short. 

Leap Year, a residency program produced by MINT, provides a comprehensive and robust system of support for emerging artists in the Atlanta-Metro area. Each artist receives free studio space for the year, a W.A.G.E. stipend, a two week residency at Hambidge, a mentor, and museum memberships. MINT’s Curatorial Jury selected the  five artists for the program from over 140 applications.

United States Artists Announces 2021 Berresford Prize Winners

CHICAGO—United States Artists (USA) announces Lulani Arquette and Roberto Bedoya as recipients of 2021 Berresford Prize, an annual award that honors cultural practitioners who have contributed significantly to the advancement, wellbeing, and care of artists in society. Lulani Arquette and Roberto Bedoya are complementary figures in the field that have both created new possibilities for artists, and will each receive the $25,000 award this year. Their visionary approaches engender cooperation, promote thoughtful civic engagement, and advocate for artists on a local and national level.

Art Papers Announces New Contributing Editors Roster

ATLANTA—Art Papers announces dramatic changes to its contributing editors list. With the launch of ART PAPERS’ Summer 2021 issue, Lauren Tate Baeza, Re’al Christian, Orit Gat, Michael Jones McKean, Humberto Moro, Joey Orr, and TK Smith join ART PAPERS as contributing editors.

Related Stories