Curtis Ames Wins Forward Arts Foundation’s Emerging Artist Award

Sorry, looks like no contributors are set
Curtis Ames.
Emerging Artist Award winner Curtis Ames.

Curtis Ames has won the 2018-19 Emerging Artist Award from the Forward Arts Foundation. He receives a $10,000 cash prize and a solo exhibition at the Swan Coach House Gallery in 2019.

Georgia Museum of Art: Neo-Abstraction on view through December 5

This annual award, now in its twentieth year, is presented to an Atlanta artist who has not had a major solo show and is not connected with a commercial gallery.

Ames earned his MFA in 2014, and his BFA from the University of Georgia in 2002. He is known for minimalist often ephemeral works that repurpose found objects in understated explorations of the meaning of failure.

Installation view of Curtis Ames's 2015 exhibition at MINT Satellite, Atlanta, GA.
Installation view of Curtis Ames’s 2015 exhibition at MINT Satellite, Atlanta, GA.

The finalists for this year’s prize, Robert Chamberlin, Krista Clark, Sonya Yong James, and Christina Price Washington, will also have works on view in a group show alongside Ames’s exhibition next year.

The 2017 winner Andrew Boatright’s show “Be Not Afraid” opens at Swan on April 12 along with works by finalists David Armistead, Wihro Kim, Julianne Trew, Vanessa Brooke Williams.

Read our Talking Heads conversation  with Ames, Boatright, and Kojo Griffin!

Related Stories

October 20, 2021

Burnaway’s bi-weekly news roundup includes new appointments at the Underground Museum and Crystal Bridges, awardees for fellowships at Anchorlight and the Joan Mitchell Foundation, and more.